Arkansas Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Arkansas
Whether you're new to the state or are just looking to switch providers, choose GEICO for an Arkansas car insurance quote that combines affordable rates with great customer service. Arkansas drivers must have minimum insurance coverage on their vehicles, so make sure your auto insurance meets or exceeds the state requirements. GEICO offers a range of auto coverage options along with discounts that could save you up to 15% on your policy.
Arkansas is a great state for road trips. There are 2.6 million acres of national forest land, Hot Springs National Parks, and expansive lakes such as Lake Dardanelle. Arkansas attractions and scenery draw about 23 million visitors every year. Before you plan your road trip to check out any of those sites or the Ozark or Ouachita mountain ranges, you have to have proper insurance. Fortunately, getting an Arkansas auto insurance quote is easy and only takes about 15 minutes.
Arkansas Car Insurance Laws and Regulations
Review these Arkansas car insurance laws and ensure you're properly insured before you get on the road.
- Before you may title and register your vehicle, you must show the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) your proof of insurance.
- If you are caught without proof of insurance, your vehicle's registration may be suspended. To reinstate it, you'll have to buy insurance and show proof to the OMV. You may also have to pay a reinstatement fee.
Minimum Required Coverage for Arkansas Auto Insurance:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per person
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage: $25,000 with a $200 deductible*
- Medical benefits: $5,000*
- Lost earnings: $140 per week*
- Accidental death benefits: $5,000 per person*
*Please note these coverages can be rejected in writing.
Arkansas Teen Driver Laws
The law requires Arkansas teen drivers to go through a three-step graduated license program.
Teens may apply for an Arkansas Learners License starting at 14. The teen driver must pass a written and road test along with a vision exam and have no record of an accident or driving convictions within the last six months. When the teen has successfully obtained his or her Arkansas Learners License, he or she may drive only when accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years or older. An Arkansas Learners License expires when the driver turns 16.
At 16, a teen driver may apply for an Arkansas Intermediate License. Intermediate License holders younger than 18 must have an adult who is at least 21 accompany them for the first six months after receiving the license. All cell phone and handheld device use are prohibited during the Learners and Intermediate License stages except for during emergencies.
The Intermediate License expires when a teen turns 18; at that point, he or she may apply for an Arkansas Regular License. The teen must not have any serious traffic violations or accidents during the 12 months before applying.
Arkansas Registration Information
The following documents are required to register and title a new or used vehicle:
- Arkansas law requires that a VIN verification be performed on vehicles with out-of-state titles that are branded with designations such as Salvage, Prior Salvage or similar designations. The manufacturer's certificate of origin properly assigned to the buyer if it is a new vehicle or the previous owner's title properly assigned to the buyer if it is a used vehicle. An invoice or bill of sale reflecting the full purchased price of the vehicle including any trade-in information.
- Odometer Statement. Under federal guidelines, vehicles less than 10 years old must have a fully completed odometer disclosure statement signed by both the buyer and the seller. If the control number on the back of the previous owner's Arkansas title is less than 3003001 or an out-of-state title is being surrendered, a separate bill of sale and conforming odometer statement must accompany the title.
- If an Arkansas title is being surrendered and the control number is 3003001 or greater, the bill of sale and odometer statement on the back of the title is sufficient if it is filled out properly and fully completed. A signed copy of the lien contract if you have financed the purchase. Proof from your county assessor showing that the vehicle has been assessed or listed for assessment for the current year. Proof that personal property taxes due by the previous October 10th have been paid. Proof of liability insurance coverage on the vehicle being registered and titled. A current registration certificate, if you wish to transfer the license plate from your previous vehicle.