Indiana Car Insurance and Coverage Requirements
What to Know About Indiana Car Insurance Requirements
Home to the Indianapolis 500, Indiana has a proud history of celebrating the automobile. While you probably don't drive an Indy race car, you still need to have Indiana car insurance. In fact, there are many coverage options to consider when researching IN auto insurance. Start your auto insurance quote online today and get the coverage you need.
Required Minimum Indiana Car Insurance Coverage
These are the minimum Indiana car insurance requirements for your Indiana auto insurance policy:
- Bodily injury liability: Minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: Minimum of $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily Injury: Minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage: Minimum of $25,000 per accident*
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury: Minimum of $50,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
*Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverages can be rejected in writing.
Optional Indiana Insurance Auto Coverage
Comprehensive - may cover repairs for vehicle damage caused by theft, fire, vandalism, and other incidents unrelated to collisions
Collision - may cover repairs for physical vehicle damage due to a collision
Medical - may cover medical expenses related to a car accident regardless of fault
Learn more about car insurance coverages to determine what is right for your situation.
Indiana Teen Driving Laws: Learner's Permit and Graduated Licensing
Teens approaching driving age have a few options for getting an unrestricted driver's license.
When enrolled in an approved driver education program, they may practice driving only after the program has started, not before. Driving is only permitted when accompanied by a certified driving instructor in the front seat of a vehicle equipped with dual brake controls, or accompanied by a parent, step-parent, or guardian who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver's license.
Practice Time: Drivers with a Learner's Permit may apply for a Driver's License after 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed instructor, or family member who's a licensed driver over 25 years old. At least 10 of these supervised hours must be nighttime driving, and practice time must be maintained in a Log of Supervised Driving and presented to the BMV at the same time when applying for a driver's license.
Students between the ages of 16 and 18 who are not enrolled in an approved driver education program may practice driving with a learner's permit only if they are accompanied by a parent, guardian, step-parent, or relative who is at lease 21 years of age, has a valid driver's license, and sits in the front seat.
Drivers who are 18 and older may practice driving with a learner's permit when an accompanying driver with a valid driver's license is seated in the front passenger seat of their vehicle. The applicant must hold a learner's permit for a minimum of 60 days before applying for a driver's license.
While holding a restricted license, drivers are not allowed to operate a vehicle at night between the hours of 10:00 PM–5:00 AM for the first 180 days. After 180 days and until the driver reaches 18 years old, the restriction changes to 11 PM. Curfews are extended until 1 AM on Fridays and Saturdays, as well as for those driving to and from work, school, or religious functions.
Texting while driving is illegal for all drivers in Indiana.
Indiana Registration Information
To register a vehicle in Indiana you need:
- Certificate of Origin
- Odometer Statement
- Proof of Insurance
- Verification of Social Security Number
Note: You will also have to apply for a title before the license branch can sell you a license plate.