Massachusetts Car Insurance
Car Insurance Coverage in Massachusetts
Are you new to the Commonwealth or just looking for cheap auto insurance without sacrificing quality? GEICO offers a lot of Massachusetts auto insurance coverage options and car insurance discounts that may apply.
Keep these facts in mind as you get a car insurance quote with GEICO:
- According to the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (Mass DOT), it is illegal to drive a car in Massachusetts without at least the minimum amount of liability coverage.
- You should keep your MA proof of insurance card in your car at all times—you may need it if you're stopped by a police officer.
- If you have just moved to Massachusetts, it's important to contact us so we can ensure that you have enough coverage. You should also register your car in Massachusetts as soon as possible.
Learn More About Required Auto Insurance Coverage in Massachusetts
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts legally requires the following minimum car insurance coverage for the operation of a motor vehicle:
- $20,000 / $40,000 bodily injury liability coverage
- $5,000 property damage coverage
- $20,000 / $40,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
- $8,000 personal injury protection
There are two types of personal injury protection in Massachusetts.
- Policyholder only: This option covers only the people named as policyholders (for example, yourself and your co-insured spouse)
- Household: This option covers you and any additional household members
Additional Massachusetts Car Insurance Coverage Options
If you need additional coverage on your vehicle in MA, your policy can include comprehensive and collision coverage. There are a few specific things about collision coverage in Massachusetts that you may need to know.
What is the difference between standard collision and limited collision?
In the event of a collision in which your vehicle is damaged, standard collision can be used to repair your vehicle regardless of who is at fault. Limited collision differs in that it can only be used if you are found to be less than 50% at fault in an accident. If you are considering limited collision, you should discuss the coverage with a licensed GEICO agent to ensure that limited collision coverage is right for you.
What is a collision deductible waiver?
Massachusetts residents who carry collision also have the option to carry the collision deductible waiver. With this, you will not need to pay your collision deductible under certain circumstances when you are less than 50% at fault in a collision.
Massachusetts Teen Driver Laws
In Massachusetts, teen drivers must be at least 16 years of age to obtain a learner's permit. New drivers under the age of 18 must take a driver's training course. During the first 6 months after obtaining a learner's license, the driver must record at least 40 hours of driving time before he or she is eligible for a restricted license.
The restricted license in Massachusetts prohibits teen drivers from operating a vehicle with passengers under the age of 18 unless they are immediate family, or the teen driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian. The teen also cannot drive between the hours of 12:30 AM and 5:00 AM unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. The passenger restriction expires after 6 months, while the nighttime restriction expires only after receiving a full driver's license. At the age of 18, teen drivers who have held a junior operator license for at least 12 months are eligible for an unrestricted driver's license.
Contact us 24/7 through our Mobile app, online, or by phone.