Montana Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Montana
Montana is known as the "Land of the Shining Mountains," and it's no wonder why—it's home to over 77 captivating mountain ranges. When driving on Montana's mountain roads, it's important to know the special rules that come with it. For instance, if two vehicles meet on a steep, narrow road, the vehicle driving downhill must yield the right-of-way to the vehicle heading uphill. Preparing your Montana adventure involves a lot of considerations, including Montana car insurance guidelines. With the right policy, you can rest assured that you'll be safe and secure as you enjoy Montana's majestic views. Keep the following in mind as you get a Montana auto insurance quote online.
Montana Auto Insurance Requirements
All car owners in Montana are required by law to carry the following minimum levels of insurance:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $20,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
*Uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage can be rejected.
Although these are the minimum requirements in Montana, each person's needs are unique. Make sure to review additional coverage information in order to determine the right choice for you.
Montana Auto Insurance Discounts
Montana drivers want car insurance that offers great value and delivers exceptional customer service. GEICO has you covered with a variety of Montana car insurance discounts. Available discounts on auto premiums in the state of Montana may include:
Montana Teen Driving—Graduated Licensing
In Montana, there are two classes of learner's permits. Teens as young as 14½ may be eligible to receive a Traffic Education Learner's License (TELL) if they are currently enrolled in a state-approved traffic education program. Holders of a TELL permit are allowed to drive only when supervised by a licensed parent or guardian.
Teens may qualify for a Learner's License after completing a traffic education program approved by the state beginning at age 15. This Learner's License allows them to drive with a parent or guardian or with a licensed driver aged 18 or older who has been authorized by the parent or guardian. The permit is valid for up to one year and must be held for at least six months before the driver is eligible for a First-Year Restricted License. Learner's License holders must acquire at least 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be nighttime driving, before being eligible to apply for a First-Year Restricted License.
First-Year Restricted License
After receiving a First-Year Restricted License, teens are allowed to drive only between the hours of 5:00 AM and 11:00 PM, with some exceptions, including: emergencies, farm-related activities, travel to and from school, church or work, and for parent-authorized purposes. For the first six-month period, drivers are allowed only one unrelated passenger under age 18 unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver age 18 or older. For the second six-month period, drivers are allowed up to three unrelated passengers under age 18, unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 18 or older.
These restrictions remain in effect until the date indicated on the back of the license, or until the driver turns 18, whichever comes first. At that time, the individual gains full driving privileges.
Montana Registration Information
New residents must apply for a Montana vehicle title, register their vehicles and obtain a Montana driver's license within 60 days of establishing residency. In order to obtain a Montana driver's license you must provide:
- Proof of identity
- Proof of Montana residency
- Proof of authorized presence
Note: Completion of a written driving and vision tests might be required.
The Montana Department of Justice provides additional information on obtaining a Montana driver license and on registering a vehicle.