Nevada Car Insurance
Nevada Car Insurance Coverage: Knowing the Basics
Nevada has scenic landscapes to the north, Las Vegas to the south, and GEICO could help you get the quality car insurance coverage you need to see it all. Whether you're new to the state, buying your first car, getting a quote for NV auto insurance, or just looking to switch to GEICO, here's what you need to know about coverage in Nevada. Remember, you can start your Nevada car insurance quote online, or call us at (800) 947-AUTO (2886) anytime.
The Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT) requires every driver in Nevada to have car insurance. So before you take that drive out to the Hoover Dam, be sure to check your glove compartment. You must keep your Nevada proof of insurance card in your car at all times. If you drive without it, you could receive a citation if you're pulled over.
Nevada Auto Insurance: Required Coverage
The state of Nevada requires at least the following car insurance coverage for the legal operation of a motor vehicle:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Note: You may choose to reject uninsured motorist coverage in Nevada.
I just got a new car. Do I need full auto insurance coverage in Nevada?
Congratulations on your purchase! If you have a loan or a lease on your vehicle, you are usually required to protect it with full coverage. This simply means your policy must include comprehensive and collision coverage.
Note: Your Nevada auto insurance coverage is not valid for travel within Mexico. You must purchase additional coverage if you wish to drive there.
Make sure to avoid a lapse of coverage.
If you let your insurance coverage lapse or expire in the state of Nevada, your registration may be suspended. Additionally, you will be subject to fines and fees ranging from $250 to as high as $1000.
What Parents Should Know Regarding Nevada Teen Driving Laws
Nevada makes use of a graduated licensing system. In Nevada, teen drivers of fifteen and a half years of age may obtain a learner's permit, and teens must be at least 16 years old to apply for a license. New drivers under the age of 18 must complete a driver training course, which consists of either online or in-class instruction as well as 50 hours of time behind the wheel.
There are a few restrictions for teen drivers.
A young driver in Nevada is prohibited from transporting any passenger under the age of 18, with the only exception being immediate family, for the first 6 months they hold their license. Additionally, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from driving between the hours of 10 PM and 5 AM. Minors must also be aware of local curfews, most notably in Las Vegas and the Reno Downtown Gaming District.
Nevada Registration Information
If you are coming from another state, please register your vehicles within 60 days after you establish residency in Nevada or before the out-of-state registration expires, whichever comes first. You must register at a DMV Full Service Office and have the following:
- Most recent registration
- Out-of-state license plates
- Nevada emissions Vehicle Inspection Report (smog check) if needed
- Nevada Vehicle Inspection Certificate ("VIN check" done at the DMV office)
- Certificate of Title (if ownership is changing. If not changing ownership, the owner has the option of retaining the out-of-state title.)
You must obtain liability insurance from a Nevada-licensed carrier in the exact name(s) which will be on the registration and title.