Utah Car Insurance
What to Know About Auto Insurance in Utah
Before you hit the road in Utah, make sure you have the proper car insurance on your vehicle. Whether you're a new Utah resident or someone just looking for a better deal on auto insurance, GEICO can offer you a great combination of superior customer service along with affordable rates. GEICO also offers a variety of discounts on Utah car insurance.
Utah is known for its rugged and diverse geographical features, such as the Great Salt Lake, Arches National Park, and the Colorado Plateau. One of the best ways to appreciate Utah's majestic landscape is by driving one of its 27 scenic byways, like Logan Canyon Scenic Byway, Mirror Lake Scenic Byway, the Trail of the Ancients, and Highway 12. As you enjoy all the natural beauty that Utah has to offer, make sure your vehicle is covered. Start your free Utah car insurance quote online.
Utah Auto Insurance Requirements
All Utah drivers must carry proof of auto insurance and present it to any law enforcement officer upon request.
The following minimum car insurance coverages are required in Utah:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $15,000 per accident
- Personal injury protection: $3,000 per accident*
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident**
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident**
*The "loss of income" portion of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage may be rejected in writing.
**Uninsured and underinsured coverages may be rejected in writing.
Utah Teen Driving Laws
Starting at age 15, teens become eligible for a Utah learner's permit, which allows them to drive with an approved instructor or a licensed parent or guardian. Beginning at age 16, if the driver has held a learner's permit for a minimum of 6 months and has completed a minimum 40 hours instructed driving (at least 10 at night), they are eligible to apply for a Utah driver's license. No drivers under 17 (whether learner's permit or driver's license holder) may drive between the hours of midnight and 5 AM, except under certain conditions.
Utah Registration Information
Bring to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) the following for each vehicle:
- Most recent registration
- Utah safety inspection certificate, if required
- Utah emission certificate, if required
- Serial number (VIN) inspections, if being titled in Utah for the first time
At least one person whose name must appear on new title
To register and title in Utah for the first time, Form TC-656 (Application to Register/Title), must be completed and submitted to a Motor Vehicle office with inspection certificates and evidence showing ownership of the vehicle.
Driving Around Utah's Bonneville Salt Flats
One of the most unique geographical features of Utah is the Bonneville Salt Flats, which can be seen along I-80 between Salt Lake City and Wendover, NV. The area was designated an Area of Critical Environmental Concern in 1985, owing to its unique geology, history, and aesthetic quality.
To help preserve the Salt Flats, be sure to stay on existing roads while driving through the area. The off-road surface may appear sturdy, but much of it is only a thin crust of salt over soft mud and is easily damaged, especially when wet. Additionally, salt water is highly corrosive and can cause damage to the electrical system in your vehicle. Please preserve Utah's geographical history (and your vehicle) by sticking to vehicle-designated roads.
We're here for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The quickest way to contact us is through our app or online. You can also chat for immediate help.
Check Out a New Quote
You are about to leave geico.com