Illinois Car Insurance
Car Insurance in Illinois—Coverage Basics
Whether you've recently moved to Illinois, you're buying a car in the Prairie State for the first time, or you're just looking to switch your insurance to GEICO; there are many Illinois auto insurance coverage options that you will want to consider.
Keep these facts in mind as you explore a car insurance quote with GEICO.
- Illinois' mandatory insurance law requires drivers to carry their insurance card at all times and present it to a law enforcement officer upon request.
- The state of Illinois will randomly select drivers to make sure they have proper car insurance. If selected, you'll receive a letter asking to verify your coverage. Law requires you to fill out the form and return it within 30 days.
- When you sign your vehicle registration renewal form, you're also promising that the vehicle will be insured during the entire registration period.
- Punishment for not carrying auto insurance in IL can be severe. You could have your license plates suspended or receive a minimum fine of $500. Driving with a suspended registration could result in a $1,000 fine.
Learn More About Illinois Required Auto Coverage
While some types of coverage are required, you have the option to reject others. These are the minimum coverages for car insurance requirements in Illinois.
- Bodily injury liability coverage: Minimum legal requirement $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: Minimum legal requirement $20,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: Minimum legal requirement $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage*: Minimum legal requirement $15,000 with a $250 deductible
* Note that this coverage can be rejected.
Additional Illinois Auto Insurance Coverage
There are additional coverages you may also choose to include on your auto policy. These can include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, rental reimbursement, emergency roadside assistance, and others. Learn more about car insurance coverages to determine what is right for your situation.
Car Insurance Discounts in Illinois
Along with great rates, GEICO has a number of discounts that could save you money. Check out some of the discounts that may be available on your Illinois auto insurance policy.
Illinois Teen Driver Laws
In Illinois, there is a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program to help teen drivers become more comfortable driving. Drivers may apply for a permit at age 15. At this point, the teen must also enroll in a driver's education course. After 50 hours of practice and upon completion of the driver's education course, 16 and 17 year-old drivers may apply for an initial license. At 18, IL drivers can obtain a full license, lifting restrictions on the hours they may be on the road and how many passengers they have in the car.
Illinois License and Registration Information
As a new Illinois resident, you may continue to drive on your valid out-of-state driver's license for 90 days. Commercial driver's license holders must obtain an Illinois Commercial driver's license within 30 days of becoming an Illinois resident.
To obtain a new driver's license, you must visit a Driver Services facility to surrender your out-of-state license. You must pass a vision screening, written exam, and depending on the circumstances, a driving exam. Proper identification must be presented to verify your full name, date of birth, social security number, Illinois residency and written signature.
If you are a new resident, you must change your vehicle registration and order new license plates within 30 days by filling out a form at a Driver Services facility.
We're here for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The quickest way to contact us is through our app or online. You can also chat for immediate help.
Check Out a New Quote
You are about to leave geico.com