New Hampshire Car Insurance

New Hampshire knows automobiles. Since opening in 1990, the New Hampshire Motor Speedway, a.k.a. "The Magic Mile," has hosted some of the most renowned racing events. And even though you probably don't drive a race car, you need to be financially responsible for your vehicle before you drive in New Hampshire. Start your New Hampshire car insurance quote and find the coverage you need at a great price.

New Hampshire Financial Responsibility Laws and Minimum Car Insurance Limits

New Hampshire requires all drivers to meet their financial responsibilities in the event of an accident. Protect yourself from financial hardship by purchasing New Hampshire auto insurance at limits that meet your needs. Insured drivers in New Hampshire must carry at least the following coverages and limits:

  • Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage: $25,000 per accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Medical payments: $1,000 per accident

New Hampshire Teen Driving Laws

Teenage drivers in New Hampshire are allowed to practice driving beginning at age 15 ½ while accompanied by a licensed adult at least 25 years of age in the front passenger seat. All unlicensed drivers must carry identification that shows proof of age.

Beginning at age 16, teen drivers may apply for a New Hampshire Youth Operator License if they have passed a state-approved driver education course, provide written permission from a parent or guardian, and have logged at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice. At least 10 of those hours must be nighttime driving. In order to receive a license, the applicant must pass a vision screening, a written test and a driver road test, and pay the $50 application fee.

Youth Operator License holders under age 18 are prohibited from driving between 1:00 AM and 4:00 AM During the first 6 months licensed, they may not drive with more than one passenger younger than age 25 who is not a family member, unless a licensed driver at least 25 years old accompanies them.

The New Hampshire Youth Operator License is oriented vertically rather than horizontally and states: "Under 21 until [date]". It expires on the individual's 21st birthday, at which time they are eligible to obtain a horizontally-oriented driver's license.

New Hampshire Registration Information

If the vehicle was purchased from a New Hampshire dealer, take the blue town clerk's copy of the Title Application, along with proof-of-residency, to the town or city where you reside in order to register the vehicle.

If the vehicle was purchased through a private sale and is a titled vehicle (1989 or newer), take the properly assigned title, along with proof-of-residency, to the town or city office where you reside in order to register the vehicle.