Wyoming Car Insurance
Wyoming Auto Insurance and Driver Information
Wyomingites are no strangers to thrill-seeking. After all, rodeo is the official state sport of Wyoming. And although risking life and limb in the saddle may be fun for some, taking risks on the road isn't a good idea for anyone. Make sure you have reliable Wyoming car insurance before you hit the road. Here's some information you should know while you get Wyoming auto insurance quotes online.
Wyoming Minimum Insurance
The State of Wyoming requires all car owners to be able to meet certain minimum financial responsibilities to ensure that funds are available to pay for damages in the event of an accident. Insured drivers in Wyoming must carry at least the following minimum auto insurance coverage levels:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $20,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
*Note: Uninsured motorist bodily Injury coverage can be rejected in writing.
Wyoming Teen Driving Laws: Graduated Licensing Program
Wyoming Restricted Learner's Permit—Special Considerations
A person 14-15 years of age may be eligible to apply for a restricted learner's permit, sometimes called a hardship permit, under certain conditions related to school, work, or "extreme inconvenience" as determined and approved by the Wyoming Highway Patrol. The restricted permit holder is only permitted to drive between the hours of 5:00 AM and 8:00 PM and within 50 miles of home.
Wyoming Regular Learner's Permit
Wyoming teen drivers are eligible to apply for a regular learner's permit beginning at age 15. Applicants must pass a vision screening and a written knowledge test before they can receive their permit. The learner's permit is valid for 1 year from the date of issue.
Permit holders may only drive while accompanied in the front passenger seat by a licensed driver who is at least 18 years old.
Wyoming Intermediate Permit
To be eligible for an intermediate permit, the applicant must be at least 16 years old and have held a learner's permit for at least 10 days. They also must have logged 50 hours of driving practice, 10 of which must have been nighttime driving. Applicants must also pass a vision screening and a driver skills test. However, the driver skills test requirement may be waived if the teen has passed a state-approved driver education course.
Intermediate permit holders are not permitted to drive between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM. They are also not permitted to transport more than one passenger under 18 years of age who is not an immediate family member. These restrictions do not apply if the permit holder is accompanied by a licensed driver at least 18 years old.
Wyoming Full Privilege Driver License
To be eligible for an unrestricted Wyoming driver license, the applicant must be at least 16 ½ years old, have held an intermediate permit for at least 6 months, and have passed a state-approved driver education course. Drivers 17 years of age or older are automatically eligible to apply for a full license, even if the driver has never held a permit.
Wyoming Registration Information
New to Wyoming? Register your vehicle and obtain a license.
Wyoming vehicle registration is handled at the county level, so you will have to visit your resident county to obtain your vehicle registration.
If you are applying for a Wyoming license you will be required to provide proof of:
- Your identity
- Your current residence
- Your Social Security Number
Visit the Wyoming Department of Transportation for a complete list of qualifying documents.
Award-Winning Customer Satisfaction
For J.D. Power 2020 award information, visit jdpower.com/awards.