The District of Columbia Car Insurance
Washington, D.C. Auto Insurance—The Basics
Are you new to the nation's capital? If so, welcome! Were you born and raised in Washington, D.C. and want to do some comparison shopping on auto insurance rates? Maybe you recently bought a car in DC for the first time and are interested in a GEICO auto insurance policy.
Whatever your reason may be, you will want to explore the Washington, D.C. car insurance options that are available to you. Please review the information below as you find DC auto insurance coverage that fits you best. You can start your car insurance quote online or call us at (800) 947-AUTO (2886).
- The Compulsory/No-Fault Motor Vehicle Insurance act requires drivers to have valid Washington, D.C. insurance in order to register or renew the registration on their vehicles. The insurance must be maintained the entire time the car is registered. Drivers may be fined for not having insurance on their vehicles.
- Drivers in Washington D.C. must carry their proof of insurance at all times. If stopped by a police officer, drivers may be asked not only for their license and registration, but also their insurance card. Failure to provide proof of insurance may result in a fine.
- If your D.C. car insurance is terminated, you must turn in your vehicle tags and registration to the Department of Motor Vehicles immediately.
Learn more about required coverage in Washington, D.C.
D.C. drivers must have at least the following coverages to drive legally in the District.
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $10,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $20,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $5,000 per accident and is subject to a $200 deductible
- Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident (this coverage can be rejected)
- Personal Injury Protection: Multiple options (this coverage can be rejected)
Washington, D.C. Teen Driver Laws
In Washington, D.C., drivers may get a learner's permit at age 16. Drivers aged 16 to 21 who carry a learner's permit may not drive alone and must be accompanied by a driver who is 21 or older, has a valid driver's license and is seated in the passenger seat. Drivers with a learner's permit may drive between the hours of 6 am and 9 pm.
After a driver has held a learner's permit violation free for at least six months and logged 40 hours of supervised driving experience, he or she may apply for a provisional driver's license. At that point, the provisional driver's license holder may drive alone, with one passenger who is at least 21 and has a valid license, or with a parent or sibling. Restricted driving hours from September through June are 6 am to 10:59 pm Sunday through Thursday and 6 am to 11:59 pm on Friday and Saturday. In July and August, restricted hours are from 6 am to 11:59 pm.
A full license (with conditions) may be obtained once a driver turns 17, has held a provisional license for six months and has completed at least 10 hours of supervised night driving. Drivers under 18 may only have two passengers under 21 with them unless the passengers are siblings. Restricted driving hours are the same as those for provisional driver's license holders. These restrictions are lifted once the driver turns 18.
Contact us 24/7 through our Mobile app, online, or by phone.
Start your free quote